Skip to content ↓

Year R Curriculum

In Year R we follow the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.  

The Early Years curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning; three Prime Areas and four Specific Areas all of which are to be taught within the context of effective teaching and learning which allow the children to play and explore, engage in active learning and create and think critically.

Prime Areas of Learning Specific Areas of Learning
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Please look at the overviews below for details of when and how content will be taught.